Kremser Sandgrube

Kremser Sandgrube
by Franz Türk

Kremser Sandgrube

Year of planting: 1965 Altitude: 246m
Orientation: South-facing Incline of slope: 5°
Grape varieties: Grüner Veltliner

This is the original Kremser Sandgrube which was first documented in the year 1214. The original “Ried“ (vineyard) is not to be confused with the larger communal site, nor the Kremser Sandgrube brand. The large Kremser Sandgrube was created in the 1950s because the wines of the original single-vineyard site were highly sought after and so scarce, that a premium was paid, often as much as 1 to 2 Schillings per bunch of grapes at the time.

Soil

The soil here consists of a deep layer of over 20 metres of loess, which dates back to prevailing winds from the 'Ice Age' when fine particles from the frontiers of glaciers were blown and deposited into the Alpine foothills. Loess is always calcareous, of powdery consistency and characteristic porous structure.

Grape vine

The Grüner Veltliner is an indigenous Austrian white wine variety that has gained international attention in recent years. The name Grüner Veltliner is still comparatively new, as this grape variety used to be called Weißgipfler (referring to its white shoot tips) or Grünmuskateller. There are also other Veltliner varieties (often unrelated), such as the Roter Veltliner and the Brauner Veltliner, referring to the colour of the grape skins at grape maturity.

Kremser Sandgrube

Kremser Sandgrube
by Franz Türk

Kremser Sandgrube

Auspflanzung: 1965 Seehöhe: 246m
Ausrichtung: Süden Neigung: 5°
Rebsorten: Grüner Veltliner

Dies ist die Original Kremser Sandgrube die bereits im Jahr 1214 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt wurde. Die Original Ried ist nicht zu verwechseln mit der Großlage oder der Marke Kremser Sandgrube. Die Großlage Kremser Sandgrube wurde in den 50iger Jahren geschaffen da die Weine der Original Ried sehr begehrt und knapp waren wurden für die Trauben damals immer um 1,- bis 2,- Schilling mehr bezahlt.

Boden

Der Lössboden ist hier in einer mächtigen Schicht von über 20m sehr ausgeprägt, Löss, das ist vom Wind in den vegetationsarmen Kaltphasen der ‚Eiszeit‘ aus den Vorfeldern der Gletscher verblasener und im Alpenvorland wieder abgelagerter Gesteinsstaub, Löss ist immer kalkhaltig, von mehliger Konsistenz und charakteristischer poröser Struktur.

Reben

Der Grüne Veltliner ist eine authochthone österreichische Weißweinsorte die in den letzten Jahren auch international immer mehr Beachtung findet. Der Name des Grünen Veltliners ist noch sehr jung, da diese Rebsorte früher unter Weißgipfler (helle bis weiße Triebspitzen) oder Grünmuskateller bekannt war. Vom Veltliner gibt es auch einen Roten- und einen Braunen- Veltliner, der Zusatz der Farbe stammt von der Farbe der Schale zur Reifezeit.