Kremser Thurnerberg

Kremser Thurnerberg
by Franz Türk

Kremser Thurnerberg

Year of planting: 1985 Altitude: 310m
Orientation: Southwest Incline of slope: 1°
Grape varieties: Grüner Veltliner

Coarse gravel, dominated by quartz boulders and crystalline rocks that originate from the ancient Danube, deposited at the level of the Rosenfeld terrace with a pedestal about 105 metres above the present Danube river.

Soil

The very rocky barren soil has a grain size of up to 30cm, which heats up rapidly during the day and retains the heat. In the spring, when the nights are still cool, this brings a clear benefit to the vegetation period, with the heat being radiated in the evenings, the growth hours are extended. The stony soil is reflected in the wine by a distinctive minerality.

Grape vine

The Grüner Veltliner is an indigenous Austrian white wine variety that has gained international attention in recent years. The name Grüner Veltliner is still comparatively new, as this grape variety used to be called Weißgipfler (referring to its white shoot tips) or Grünmuskateller. There are also other Veltliner varieties (often unrelated), such as the Roter Veltliner and the Brauner Veltliner, referring to the colour of the grape skins at grape maturity.

Kremser Thurnerberg

Kremser Thurnerberg
by Franz Türk

Kremser Thurnerberg

Auspflanzung: 1985 Seehöhe: 310m
Ausrichtung: Süd - West Neigung: 1°
Rebsorten: Grüner Veltliner

Grober Schotter, dominiert von Quarzgeröllen und kristallinen Gesteinen, geliefert von der Ur-Donau, abgelagert im Niveau der Rosenfeld-Terrasse mit einem Sockel der etwa 105 m über dem heutigen Donaulauf liegt.

Boden

Der sehr steinige karge Boden mit einer Korngröße bis zu 30cm erwärmt sich tagsüber sehr rasch und speichert die Wärme. Im Frühjahr wo die Nächte noch kühl sind bringt dies einen deutlichen Vegetationsvorsprung, durch die Wärmeabstrahlung in den Abendstunden werden die Wachstumsstunden verlängert. Der steinige Boden spiegelt sich im Wein durch eine besondere Mineralität wider.

Reben

Der Grüne Veltliner ist eine authochthone österreichische Weißweinsorte die in den letzten Jahren auch international immer mehr Beachtung findet. Der Name des Grünen Veltliners ist noch sehr jung, da diese Rebsorte früher unter Weißgipfler (helle bis weiße Triebspitzen) oder Grünmuskateller bekannt war. Vom Veltliner gibt es auch einen Roten- und einen Braunen- Veltliner, der Zusatz der Farbe stammt von der Farbe der Schale zur Reifezeit.